Getting cert files into Docker

Hi.
I’ve got Xibo 1.8.0-rc2 up and running using the Docker images. It’s using pure http though and I want https. If I understand things correctly I can simply edit the apache-config.conf in containers/web-dev and it will overwrite the default one, right? Question is how I get the cert files into the Docker image. I guess I can manually copy them there, but that doesn’t feel like a good idea since they’ll be overwritten when the image is rebuilt. Is there any supported way of doing it?

The same goes for SAML. I haven’t started playing with it yet, but I get the feeling I’ll stumble into the same problem there. I can put the settings in settings-custom.php, but how do I get the needed cert files in?

I’m a newbie when it comes to Docker, so I don’t know how this is usually done, but I guess a general way of getting custom files into the image is needed.

/Daniel

Hi again. I’m just wondering, since I got no replies here: Is it simply the fact that https isn’t supported when using Docker? Seems kinda strange to me since Docker is the recommended installation method for Tempel and https should be recommended as well. There really should be a recommended way of enabling https.

/Daniel

Sorry Daniel - I didn’t see your message - its been busy recently. I agree we need to supply some instructions on how to do this in the documentation.

The docker containers we’ve supplied are non-ssl which is standard practice when using Docker - mostly for the reason you’ve highlighted - getting stuff into the container.

You can and should use SSL for anything public or unsecured, but you need to terminate the SSL connection on your host machine and use a reverse proxy to forward SSL requests into the Docker container. This sounds complicated but is actually quite simple.