If the Player tries to show a media item, and it causes an error doing so, it will add that media item to the internal blacklist. You can see that on the Player status screen.
It won’t then try and show that media item again until it receives an updated version from the CMS. That will normally mean the layout that media item is on won’t be shown any more, since it causes a problem for the device.
You can turn that behaviour off in the Display Settings Profile for your Android devices if you want, and the Player will just retry every time to show that media item. However people looking at the screen will see the error every time that layout runs.