Sharing experiences: Failed attempt at a "super XMR" service

Hi guys!

I would like to share with you my failed attempt to create a “super-service” of XMR using 03 XMR containers and an HAproxy container as a load balancer.
I chose HAproxy because it works very well as a load balancer for TCP requests, as is the case with XMR requests.

I think failed attempts at new things are also interesting to share, as they can open the way for new ideas. In fact, I have seen some here that, even though they did not work, helped me with other things.

Well, basically I have about 200 CMS published on the web. Currently, unfortunately, we still use manual installation with the IIS service and Windows server (currently I am studying a lot on how to migrate these CMS to Docker), anyway…

Our clients are very restrictive regarding port releases. Therefore, the only ports I can get all of them to release are ports 80 and 443, so I would lose the XMR service on port 9505. Our solution was to host an Ubuntu server with the XMR service published, so it receives CMS connections on port 8080 and publishes on port 443. All my CMSs have these configurations pointed to the same XMR server.

The big problem is that with the high number of devices, this service ended up being too slow, until it couldn’t handle it anymore.

Our idea here was to improve this service using some XMR containers and a load balancer in front of them to manage requests, thus creating a kind of turbocharged XMR to handle the high demand for requests.

The container configurations were as follows:

version: "3"

services:

haproxy:
    image: haproxy:2.4
    volumes:
      - ./haproxy/haproxy.cfg:/usr/local/etc/haproxy/haproxy.cfg
    ports:
      - "8080:8080"
      - "443:9505"
    networks:
      - my-network

xmr1:
    image: xibosignage/xibo-xmr:0.9

networks:
      - my-network
    environment:
      XMR_DEBUG: "true"
      XMR_HOST: haproxy
      XMR_PORT: 8080
      XMR_CALLBACK_HOST: host.docker.internal