Recommendation, maybe work on getting the windows client to work better in WINE?

Ive had some success installing the windows client using WINE, the only thing that doesnt work is videos and Im not sure why. If all development has been stopped on the linux client which seems to be the case, maybe thats a road that could save on development time without abandoning the linux player side. Most of us do not want yo use windows for our player machines.

Hi aegisgfx,~

Thank you for passing this on and confirming you have been running the Xibo for Windows player on your Linux installation. I will pass this onto the developers as feedback. Could you also confirm the following details:

• The Operating system you are using.
  • The player version you tested.

I cannot comment on the potential reasons why this would not be a suitable solution as I am not a developer but I will certainly make sure to pass this on so they can respond or consider your suggestion.

Many Thanks.

I am testing it on ubuntu 20, and I tried windows player 3 R301.1-301

Everything seems to work except video which just shows a black screen. I’m only testing this since all development seems to have stopped on the actual linux player a far as I can tell, the last update was about a year ago.

Thank you for your reply with the requested details.

Xibo are currently looking for help with the development of the Linux player, which has caused some delays. I have forwarded this post to the developers for consideration but I unfortunately do not have a solution or workaround I can offer regarding video playback.

Many Thanks.

This is only a guess, but I suspect the Wine FAQ sections 8.1 and 8.3 might have something to do with why video does not work.