Local video module fails on Linux Player

Hi,

Player version

1.8-R5 code version 50

Issue

I’m new to Xibo and I’ve been doing a lot of playing to ensure I’m setting things correctly. I’ve searched the forum and google for answers but I’m stuck. There are explanations and examples of how to use the local video module with Windows, but for Linux there are no examples.

I can successfully play video on the linux xibo player that is from the library on my xibo server. I can also successfully play local video IF the local video is placed in the folder that has been defined as the local library on the player. However, if I try to put the video in a sub folder of that I am unable to find a way to access it. If I try to put the video in any other folder on the computer I am unable to find a way to access it.

Basically it appears that if I want to include a / in the name of the video it cannot be found. Yet the player is receiving the / correctly. So I’m not sure what is going on.

For testing purposes I’ve made any folder (and any file within that) I’m trying to play from FULL permissions to everyone. I have put copies of the file I want to play at /media/test.mp4, test.mp4 (in local library folder), test/test.mp4 (in subfolder of local library folder). The only one that plays correctly is the one in the local library folder itself.

With the local video path defined as: file://test/test.mp4 (in a vain attempt to access a SUB folder of local library)
[1070] [error]: [GstMediaPlayer] Error from element source: Resource not found. Player exited with code 15

With the local video path defined as: file:///media/test.mp4 (to access a SUB folder of the root folder)
[10534] [error]: [GstMediaPlayer] Error from element source: Could not open file “/media/test.mp4” for reading. Player exited with code 15

With the local video path defined as: media/test.mp4 (in a vain attempt to access a SUB folder of the root folder)