[Date] and time format

Xibo is successfully reading an RSS feed from our website via a ticker. However, I am not able to format the date/time into something a little more easy to read.

In the ticker the tag for the date/times is:
[Date]

This results in something that looks like this:
06/07/17 09:30:00
But this isn’t very nice to look at. It’s better for it to say July 6, 2016 9:30 AM

But I can’t figure out how to make it formatted how I want it. I am not a programmer or someone who understands code. Please keep this in mind when you reply…best to assume that I know nothing.

Thanks in advance.

You could do something ugly like I’ve done.
I’m using a scheduled task that uses cURL to make a copy of the RSS feed, then manipulating it with a perl script.

This is a pretty ugly pretty script but it gets the job done.

require LWP::UserAgent;
use XML::FeedPP;
use Time::Format;
use Date::Manip;

my $source = 'htdocs/sharepoint.rss';
my $feed = XML::FeedPP->new( $source );

# Iterates through several arrays to find items matching "Start", strips date and time 
# Sends date and time from sharepoint Start Time through "ParseDate" from Date::Manip
# Feeds resulting fixed date and time into the current items pubDate

foreach $item ( $feed->get_item() ) {
    $description = $item->description(); # loads RSS item <description> to make an array next
	@splitdesc = split /\<div\>/, $description; #initial split done on div tag
	foreach (@splitdesc){
		@splitelement = split/\<b\>/, $_; # splits each element in that array by <b\> tag
		foreach (@splitelement){
			if ($splitelement[1] =~ m/Start/) { # If we have "Start" in the variable...
				$splitin2 = $splitelement[1];   # then grab the element we want...
				@splitstart = split/ /,$splitin2; # and SPLIT AGAIN!
				foreach (@splitstart) {
					$splitstart[4] =~ s/\<\/div\>//; #tidy up with substitution
					$fixedStartDate = "$splitstart[2] $splitstart[3] $splitstart[4]"; #aaand concat our date